R.I.P.

The past week has brought some sad news about trail races that have been retired:

Chippewa Moraine 50K was suddenly canceled just a few weeks after being named the Upper Midwest Trail Runners Ultra Championship race for 2010. Doesn’t really make sense to me that the race would be canceled on such short notice, especially when there were 3 race co-directors. I’m sorry to see this one go since it was a great event on a beautiful course and was becoming a classic North Woods event after only 2 years in existence.

The Keweenaw Trail Running Festival near Copper Harbor, MI has also been retired after 10 years. I never got a chance to participate in this event but always wanted to, especially since I lived in the area for 4 years during my college days at Michigan Tech. They had 3 different events: a hill climb, a 10K, and a 25K in the beautiful Copper Country.

On an up note, the North Country Half Marathon,  Marathon, and 50 Mile near Manistee, MI WILL take place on August 28, 2010 with a new event organizer 🙂

5 Responses to R.I.P.

  1. Matt says:

    Where will the championchip race take place now?

  2. Kel says:

    Matt, I haven’t heard which race will be the championship ultra race now that Chippewa is no more. Keep a watch on the Fab Five Fifties race series on the Upper Midwest Trail Runners website.

  3. Steve says:

    The current frontrunner for the championship is the Superior Trail 50K, but it won’t be decided for certain for a while yet.

  4. Paavo says:

    The KTRF was an absolute favorite of mine ran it four times in the last six years. Awesome trails. And the Chippewa Moraine, I was thinking about making that my first 50K. Alas.

  5. McClain says:

    Does anyone know why the Chippewa 50K was cancelled? I’m very surprised as Wynn seemed very passionate about directing this one. I was looking forward to my 3rd year running. I tried calling the interpretive center where it starts and they didn’t have any info either.

